The Ruler of Books Tag | A Bundle of Books

the-ruler-of-books-tag-2

Hey, everyone! Today I am doing the Ruler of Books Tag, which was created by one of my favourite BookTubers, Ariel Bissett! Check out her video of this tag here (and also the rest of her videos because she is amazing).This book tag is all about the various “laws” that I would enforce if I were to have my own bookish kingdom (which is basically every reader’s dream, am I right?). I was not tagged by anyone to do this tag, but rest assured, I will be tagging some fellow bloggers myself! Now, time for the tag!

dotted-line

WHAT BOOK WOULD YOU MAKE EVERYONE READ?

miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children

So, here’s the thing. I was originally going to make the answer to this my favourite book ever (The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald), but I recently read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and it was so beautiful and imaginative. If I’m going to force an entire kingdom to read a book then it has to be something that they will love me for making them read. The Great Gatsby is a very divisive novel – people either love it or hate it. The last thing I want is for my kingdom to go to war! Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is a wonderful story and I know that everyone would enjoy it! I wrote a review for this novel, so if you would like to read more of my thoughts on it then check it out here!

dotted-line

WHAT WOULD YOU ABOLISH IN BOOK CONSTRUCTION?

It actually took me a bit of time to think of what I would abolish in book construction, but I decided that I would definitely get rid of mass market paperbacks! As you know, there are trade paperbacks and then standard paperbacks, but every once in a while you come across those gross little mass market paperbacks. I find them to be kind of impractical and somewhat weird because they are so small compared to ordinary paperbacks. Take the Vintage Classics editions by Penguin Random House UK, for example. I really adore the covers of these editions, but these books are TOO SMALL. So yes, I would definitely get rid of mass market paperbacks.

dotted-line

WHAT AUTHOR WOULD YOU COMMISSION TO WRITE YOU ANY BOOK?

This is probably the toughest question on this tag because there are so many amazing authors that I would commission to write for me! I mean, just imagine if I got Neil Gaiman, Marissa Meyer, or Ali Smith to write me a book. The possibilities are endless! But, I think I’m going to have to go for the cliché and expected answer – J.K. Rowling. I’ve only read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone from the Harry Potter series, but I love it so much that I know that the rest of the books are amazing, too. Plus, if the film adaptations are anything to go by then I know that J.K. Rowling is a goddess at storytelling. Maybe I could commission her to write me that Snape and Lily prequel…

dotted-line

WHAT BOOK WOULD YOU DEMOTE TO THE LIBRARY BASEMENT TO MAKE ROOM FOR NEW BOOKS?

Robinson Crusoe

I would gladly demote Robinson Crusoe to the library basement! Heck, I would try to get rid of it in a library sale. This novel was so mind-numbingly boring and pointless that I don’t understand why it even has a sequel. This novel is often hailed as being the first full-length novel published in English; however, regardless of whether or not this is true, it does not deserve even a little bit of praise. It lacks any sort of intrigue and excitement, and I often found myself wanting to rip my hair out.

dotted-line

WHAT COVER ARTIST WOULD YOU COMMISSION TO MAKE A MURAL?

Jane Eyre

Sara Singh illustrated the stunning images found on the Splinter Classic Lines Collection, all of which I adore, but the edition of Jane Eyre is probably my favourite. If I could get Sara Singh to design me something this ethereal and beautiful I would be happy forever. Watercolours are also my thing, so I would definitely be pleased with probably anything that she creates if it’s in watercolour again!

dotted-line

WHAT CHARACTER’S FACE WOULD YOU PUT ON A COIN?

Usually, those faces that we see on our money are people that are inspiring or have changed our countries in some way. So, if I’m going to put somebody’s face on the money of my kingdom then it has to be somebody that has changed my reading life! I would definitely put Cinder from Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles on a coin because her character made me fall in love with reading all over again. She’s also really fun, independent, and strong as a character, so I think she would be great to put on a coin! Especially since she’s a cyborg and that’s so awesome!dotted-line

WHAT BOOK WOULD YOU AWARD THE “RULER OF BOOKS 2016 PRIZE” TO?

The Final Empire

Since 2017 has only just begun, I’m going to give this award to a book that I read in 2016! Of course, I think that it’s only fair to give this award to a book other than my favourite book of 2016, which was Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, since I’ve already given that novel praise by forcing it onto my people! I’m going to have to give this award to a novel that I read in 2016 that was unique, interesting, well-written, and incredibly gripping. That novel is The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson! This novel really changed the way I look at fantasy novels and played so much with the genre that I want to read more and more of Sanderson’s work. This was a truly awesome novel! If you’re interested in more of my thoughts then my review for it can be found here!

dotted-line

And there we have it! The Ruler of Books Tag! This was a really fun tag to do since the idea of having my own bookish kingdom sounds like a dream come true! I think that the people in my kingdom would love me considering that I would make them read a great novel, adorn our kingdom with beautiful murals, and forever ban horrific mass market paperbacks. And since this is a tag, I have tagged a few fellow bloggers below to go ahead and do this tag themselves!

I tag:

Amanda @ Cover2CoverMom

Gabrielle @ frumiousreadsbooks

Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

HAVE YOU DONE THE RULER OF BOOKS TAG? WHAT LAWS WOULD YOU PUT IN PLACE IN YOUR OWN BOOKISH KINGDOM? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

2 thoughts on “The Ruler of Books Tag | A Bundle of Books

  1. Amanda @Cover2CoverMom says:

    Thank you so much for the tag!

    I also enjoyed Miss Peregrine’s HFPC and think it is definitely a book that appeals to such a wide audience! I really need to get around to reading the sequels!

    I am totally with you on mass market paperbacks! Ugh they are just so ugly.

    If I could have an author write me a book I would go with Neil Gaiman (since you took J.K. Rowling lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lara says:

      You’re welcome! 😛 I’m so glad that someone agrees with me about mass market paperbacks! They really make me cringe. I actually haven’t read Neil Gaiman before (I know, I’m totally ashamed of this), but I have Neverwhere so hopefully I’ll get to it soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

