My 2017 Reading Challenge | A Bundle of Books

the-x-reading-challenge

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 A new year means new opportunities, new resolutions, and, of course, new reading challenges! Every year I set reading goals for myself according to what kind of changes I want to make in my reading. If you would like to check out my 2016 Reading Challenge, you can find it here. It’s fair to say that it was a complete fail. The only challenge that I completed out of the 5 that I set was “Read 3 Books With Over 500 Pages”. I really enjoyed that challenge and loved all three of the novels. But, other than that, I wasn’t able to complete any challenges. I only read 14 books towards my goal of 45, which is exactly 10 books less than what I read in 2015. But now 2016 has come and gone and it is now time for a new challenge! Here is my 2017 Reading Challenge!

dotted-line

READ OUTLANDER BY DIANA GABALDON

Outlander

In my 2016 Reading Challenge, I made it a goal to read Outlander before the end of the year. This was especially crucial because I was going to Scotland in August and I knew I was going to see places where the TV show is being filmed. I did try to read it, but then other commitments got in the way and I was unable to finish. I’ve been wanting to read Outlander for the longest time, but it’s quite a big book and I almost never have time to get to it. But, this is the year that I WILL. I love Scotland and the Historical Fiction genre, so to have them both in one book is basically a dream come true for me.

dotted-line

READ 3 SCI-FI NOVELS

Sci-fi is a genre that I very rarely give a chance. I’ve probably only read about two or three sci-fi novels my whole life and, until recently, this wasn’t really something that I was concerned about. I made it a goal to read 5 sci-fi novels last year and I didn’t even read one. I’m really curious as to whether or not I would enjoy sci-fi in novels as much as I do in films, so this year I want to give sci-fi a real chance!

dotted-line

FINISH THE LUNAR CHRONICLES SERIES

-sigh- This is something I’m quite ashamed of. I LOVE the Lunar Chronicles and have forced it onto many people to read! The series ended in 2015 and I STILL haven’t gotten around to reading the last book, Winter, and the companion novella bind-up, Stars Above. I wasn’t really keen to get to them in 2016, but I think I’m finally ready to part with the story this year. I’m very excited to see how the story ends and to finally say that I finished my favourite series!

dotted-line

READ A TOTAL OF 40 BOOKS

And finally, we come to my main reading goal for the year. As I mentioned previously, I aimed to read 45 books last year, but only managed 14. I want to read 40 books this year because a huge chunk of my reading will be for university and there are quite a few other books that I want to read that have been waiting patiently for me for far too long. 40 books is definitely achievable and I’m really hoping that I stay motivated and don’t fall into a reading slump like I did last year!

dotted-line

And that’s my 2017 Reading Challenge! I can’t wait to dive head-first into all of the amazing books that await me this year! I think I’m especially excited to finish the Lunar Chronicles because I’ve been putting it off for too long and I’m ready to know how it ends! I will be updating how my challenge goes here on my blog and also on my GoodReads profile throughout the year. I hope this inspires some of you to also challenge yourself in your own reading this year! Happy reading!

HOW WILL YOUR READING CHANGE THIS YEAR? HAVE ANY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR ME? WHAT DO YOU WANT TO READ THIS YEAR? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

7 thoughts on “My 2017 Reading Challenge | A Bundle of Books

  1. Amanda @Cover2CoverMom says:

    I read The Outlander series back in 2009 and fell in love with it. I actually haven’t seen the show… It has been so long since reading the books and they are very dense books, so I’m afraid I’ve forgotten everything… I actually haven’t read the most recent book that came out in 2015 because of this. I really need to find some spark notes on them lol

    I see that you are reading Furiously Happy! How are you finding it? I thought it was absolutely hilarious. I got to meet Jenny Lawson this past October and she is such a riot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lara says:

      The Outlander series is definitely very intimidating because each book is so huge! I’m not sure that I’ll read the whole series but I definitely want to at least read the first one.

      I’m absolutely loving Furiously Happy! It’s so funny, especially because I can relate to it so so much. I was worried to get into it though because I don’t really read non-fiction but I’m so glad that I did.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

