2016 | A Reading Year In Review

There is no doubt that 2016 was a difficult reading year for me. I wasn’t able to achieve my reading goal of 45 books and only completed one of the three “mini challenges” that I set for myself. But, to be honest, I’m actually really okay with it. I was in my final year of my undergraduate, started a new job, and travelled a lot. Making time for personal reading was difficult enough, so I’m pretty surprised that I was able to read 14 books! If you’d like to see how I did in my 2016 Reading Challenge then you can find it here. But now, let’s take a look at those books and find out which ones were my favourite and least favourite, and which one I highly recommend!

dotted-line

Favourite Book of 2016

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children

It is without any doubt that Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was my favourite book of the year! It was exciting, gripping, and really unique. I loved the story and characters so much. The photographs included really tied everything together and made it a truly memorable novel overall! If you would like to read my review for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children then you can find it here! There is also a fantastic review for the film adaptation that you can find here if you’re interested (P.S. The blog is awesome, so check it out anyway :P).

Least Favourite Book of 2016

Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

2785915.jpg

-sigh- I wanted to love Mrs Dalloway so much, but it was such a huge disappointment. I understand that Woolf was a modernist and that this novel really experimented with modernist techniques to its very core, but I couldn’t stand it. I don’t see why this is such a pioneering piece of work since there are so many other modernist writers (James Joyce, I’m looking at you) who really pulled it off and made modernism not so bland and unexciting. This novel dragged along and was difficult to follow. And yes, I understand that that was pretty much the point, but why, Virginia, why?!

 My 2016 Recommendation

Hotel World by Ali Smith

123036

Look, this was nearly my pick for my favourite book of 2016, so there’s definitely something special about it. It was so interesting and gripping, whilst also confusing the hell out of me. I never read anything by Ali Smith before Hotel World, so I didn’t really have any expectations and wasn’t aware of just how different a writer she is. Her experimentation with the novel’s form and her wit and language and downright playfulness made this a really fun novel to piece back together. I mean, there’s an entire chapter written without any punctuation whatsoever! IT’S AMAZING! Who would’ve thought that I would ever be excited about there being absolutely no commas in sight?

dotted-line

I must say, 2016 wasn’t the best reading year. I wasn’t able to reach my reading goals, I only read a handful of really wonderful novels, and I was in the worst reading slump of my life. But I’m really excited for what lies ahead of me in 2017. There are so many books that I want to read and blog posts I want to write and I couldn’t be more eager to get started. In my next blog post, I’ll be sharing my 2017 Reading Challenge, so hopefully that will be a great way to motivate me to get reading!

HOW WAS YOUR 2016 READING YEAR? WHAT WAS YOUR MOST AND LEAST FAVOURITE BOOKS? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

Leave a Reply

