Top 5 Books I DNF’D | T5W

1

Top Five Wednesday was created by Lainey over on Ginger Reads Lainey! Check out her YouTube channel and the GoodReads group if you would like to join this weekly book meme!

This week’s topic is Top Five Books I DNF’d! For those of you who don’t know, “DNF” stands for “Did Not Finish”. On my GoodReads account I have a shelf called “DNF”, where I put all the books I never finished just in case I ever want to give them another shot. But when I went to check out that shelf to help me create this week’s list for T5W, I saw that I only have five books on it anyway! So this week was a pretty easy list to put together! I didn’t finish these books for a variety of different reasons. However, I’m not the type of person who doesn’t finish a book, unless I have a VERY good reason to! Let’s get into the books!

dotted-line

5

Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Never Never

Taking the fifth spot this week is Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher. I’ve put this in fifth because I barely even started it before I put it down, so it’s almost unfair that I put it on the list! I’ve never read anything by either of the authors though, so I’m still keen to get to this. But it just wasn’t the right time when I tried reading it because I was much more interested in reading other books, so I DNF’d it!

dotted-line

4

Panic by Lauren Oliver

Panic

Next up is Panic by Lauren Oliver. To be honest, I only read about five chapters of this when I put it down and it was also because I was more interested in reading other books. But I wasn’t very happy with what I had read so far anyway. The writing felt very middle-grade and the story didn’t sound like it was going to be very exciting, even though the premise sounds epic. I mean, who wouldn’t want to read a book about teenagers who have to face their worst fears in a competition?

dotted-line

3

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings

In third place is Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien. Oh boy, oh boy, this book and I have had a very tumultuous relationship. I started reading this in February last year and still haven’t finished. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love the story and think that Tolkien’s writing is amazing. Unfortunately, the size of this novel is incredibly intimidating for me and was the main reason I stopped reading it. 1138 pages is a huge commitment all at once for me, so this is the kind of book that I have to read in small sections here and there. But it is part of my reading goals for this year to finish Lord of the Rings, so I will be picking it back up very soon!

dotted-line

2

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1) by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games

Now we are getting into the two books that I DNf’d because of how much I didn’t enjoy them. The first of these books is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I have tried many times to read this book and each and every time I never finished. I thought the movie was so much better and really expanded the world and story to make it so much more enjoyable. I was so bored and unimpressed reading this and I never plan on picking it up again.

dotted-line

1

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

Robinson Crusoe

Taking the number one spot this week is Daniel Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe. Oh, how I loathe this book. Really, it was the most irritating, mind-numbingly boring, and uneventful book I have ever read. What makes this even worse is that I was only about fifty pages away from finishing it, but I couldn’t push myself to do it! Pretty much nothing happens in this story and the writing is incredibly bland as well. I don’t ever plan on torturing myself by trying to read this novel again. It was horrible and that’s why I DNF’d it!

dotted-line

That was my Top Five Books I DNF’d for this week’s Top Five Wednesday! I DNF’d these books for different reasons, but I think that those reasons were good enough to warrant the DNF! I do plan on picking up Never NeverPanic, and The Lord of the Rings again in the future, but I will never give The Hunger Games or Robinson Crusoe another chance. Both of them were really not enjoyable, which is why they were the top two on my list this week.

WHAT ARE YOUR TOP FIVE BOOKS THAT YOU DID NOT FINISH? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Books I DNF’D | T5W

  1. Gennifer Eccles says:

    I have Panic sitting on my shelf and I am hoing that I like it! I’ve heard mixed reviews and really want to see what I think about it. I’ve read a lot of CoHo, but haven’t read anything of Tarryn Fisher. I want to pick up the trilogy, but it’s not at my library and I can’t justify buying them. Great T5W! Here is my T5W!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lara says:

      Thanks!

      Yeah, I’m a bit worried about Panic because of the mixed reviews. I haven’t read CoHo or Tarryn Fisher but I’ve heard great things about both!

      Like

  2. Danica says:

    I’ve had Panic on my shelf for ages. I bought it during the Delirium hype. Now reading the Delirium series I’m unsure whether I’ll pick it up or not. Never Never was probably one of the worst CoHo books I’ve read. And I love everything that she writes!

    Danica @ A Redheaded Bookworm
    TOP 5 WEDNESDAY

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

