Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #1) | Review

Throne of Glass

Title: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: 2 August 2012

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Where To Purchase: TakealotExclusive BooksBook Depository

Rating:Star2 Star2 Star2 Star2

SYNOPSIS

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

MY REVIEW

Let me start off just by saying that this book was so much fun! Really, I had such a blast getting into this world and being introduced to the epic characters. This was my first time reading anything by Sarah J. Maas and I totally understand why so many people fell for this series from the moment they read this book. There is action, interesting plot points, a unique world, and so much more. However, there was one problem I had with it, which, taking everything into account, pushed me to give Throne of Glass a rating of 4/5 stars.

There was so much that I loved about this novel. Firstly, the characters were great! Celaena is so strong and unapologetic, Chaol is reserved and sweet, and Dorian is charming and fun. I think they all balance each other out really well and create a lovable set of main characters. The side characters, Nehemia in particular, added some extra life to the main characters, which I really liked because they were all quite different in their own ways.

Something else that I quite enjoyed about Throne of Glass was how unpredictable it was. I feel like the synopsis doesn’t even begin to sell the book half as well as it should because it makes it sound like a bit of a dystopian novel rather than a fantasy. I also had no idea how much more broad the story would actually be. This isn’t a novel just about a competition. There are so many little events happening in the background that are affecting the main plot arc and this made it so much more exciting to read.

Lastly, I appreciated how little emphasis there was on romance. Its a known fact that one of the main tropes of YA novels is the “love triangle”, however, Maas played with this trope a bit differently by making it quite subtle and not letting the story get carried away with romance everywhere. The emphasis is mostly on the action of the competition, Celaena figuring out who she is after leaving Endovier, and the mysterious events that are happening in the background, which was all so interesting without the romance story!

But, despite what I loved about the book, I wasn’t very happy with how the magic system was explained. Maas didn’t really help me understand how the magic works and what Wyrdmarks even are. Whenever there were parts that spoke about magic I just felt very confused and wanted more detail into who can yield magic and what the magic actually does. I’m hoping to get some clarity in the next book, Crown of Midnight, because magic is quite central to the story, so I do need to understand it!

Overall, I really enjoyed Throne of Glass. It is a great introduction to the series, giving you a foundation for what the overarching plot will be whilst giving you enough action, intrigue, and fun moments to excite your taste buds enough to pick up the next book. Even though the magic wasn’t explained very well, the story was action-packed and adventurous and I can’t wait to see how the story continues in the next novel!

HAVE YOU READ THRONE OF GLASS? WHAT DID YOU THINK? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

5 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #1) | Review

  1. Anne says:

    Great review! You brought up a good point about the magic. The wyrdmarks were extremely ambiguous and I had a hard time following how it was relevant to the plot but I guarantee you that it’ll be cleared up in Crown of Midnight. The love triangle irked me and I felt bad for the complications it caused in the friendships.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lara says:

      Thank you! 🙂 Yeah the magic has confused me, but maybe it was explained subtly for a reason? Haha I’m not sure but I’ll have to see how it’s explained in the rest of the series! To be honest, I know who I would like Celaena to be with at this point but I’m so much more concerned with the mystery of the plot than the romance. And a lot of the romance felt a bit awkward haha

      Like

      • Anne says:

        It was really clunky to insert the romance because Celaena is such a strong determined character who just left prison. The fantasy element should have been stronger because it’s so well-written.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

