The Pastry Book Tag | A Bundle of Books

4After a few of weeks of not posting, I am finally back with a new tag – The Pastry Book Tag! I just got back to university and the workload is hectic, so sorry for the late post! I am so excited about this tag thought because of the way it uses pastries in order to create the questions! I was tagged by Aimal over at Bookshelves & Paperbacks. Thank you for tagging me! Make sure you check out her blog because I kinda-sorta love it 😛 Let’s get into the tag!

dotted-lineCROISSANT: NAME A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE (INCLUDING YOU) LOVES

City of Bones

I never intended on reading Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series because of all the hype surrounding it. The concept also didn’t sound very interesting to me in the beginning. But when I heard that there was a TV show in the works about a year ago, I decided to give the series a shot. And now? I’m in love with it! I really like the TV show, but I might stop watching it for a while so that I can catch up in the series so that there aren’t any spoilers! I’ve only read the first book, but I definitely think that this series lives up to the hype so far!

dotted-lineMACARONS: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS HARD TO GET THROUGH BUT WORTH IT IN THE END

Frankenstein

I usually find it hard to get through a lot of classics, but I always try to push through because I do see the value in reading them. This did not change when I read Frankenstein. The pacing of this story was pretty slow and didn’t grip me at all at first, but it was so interesting to read about Frankenstein and his monster throughout so I kept on reading. By the time it came to the end, I was really satisfied and it was worth pushing through the slow pace.

dotted-lineVOL-AU-VENT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WILL BE AMAZING BUT FELL FLAT

Everything Everything

My review for Everything, Everything pretty much sums up my thoughts on it. It was so good in some aspects, but the way that it ended was such a disappointment that the whole book fell flat for me, and that is such a pity because this book had so much potential! The concept was so interesting and the use of mixed media made it fun to read at some points, but then the ending was a bit of a cop-out and I really hated that.

dotted-linePAIN-AU-CHOCOLAT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WOULD BE ONE THING BUT TURNED OUT TO BE SOMETHING ELSE

Throne of Glass

The premise of Throne of Glass sounded pretty straightforward to me and that it would go in a predictable direction. At first it did seem like what I imagined it to be: this girl going into a tournament to become the King’s Champion and there are a series of challenges she has to complete etc. But, reading this novel was so much fun because, at first, the premise does seem predictable and then BAM plot twist! Then the entire story took a turn and I LOVED it!

dotted-linePROFITEROLE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT DOESN’T GET ENOUGH ATTENTION

These Broken Stars

I give The Starboard Trilogy a lot of attention. And I mean a lot. I think this series has been mentioned in almost every post I have made so far that isn’t a book review. But a big part of why I do that is because there aren’t many people talking about it. I’ve only read the first book in the series, These Broken Stars, and I can see that this trilogy is going to be amazing and I wish that more people would read it! So, here’s this trilogy’s cameo for the week. READ IT!

dotted-lineCROQUEMBOUCHE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT’S COMPLETELY COMPLEX

To be honest, I don’t really know what “completely complex” entails, but if it has to do with the plot then I can’t think of any book or series that I would say was completely complex for me. There have been a lot of books that have surprising plot twists, but I don’t know if that makes it completely complex. So yeah, no answer for this one!

dotted-lineNAPOLEON: NAME A MOVIE OR TV SHOW BASED OFF A BOOK THAT YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK ITSELF

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games trilogy and I have a very bad relationship. I have tried reading the first book in this trilogy four times now and I have never once made it to the end. The story feels so bland and boring in the book and the characters don’t feel like they have their own unique personalities. I found the movies to be a million times better and that they really captured the feel that I was looking for in the book.

dotted-lineEMPANADA: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS BITTERSWEET

The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby is my all-time favourite novel. Ever. I truly believe that this book is a masterpiece. Throughout this novel I fell in love with the characters and the story so much, so by the end of it I was left feeling bittersweet. On one hand, the tragic event at the end made me ball my eyes out and feel so horrible for one of the characters, but on the other hand, the story overall really made me feel happy that Fitzgerald created such a beautiful work, and that allowed me to have a newfound love and appreciation for modern classics.

dotted-lineKOLOMPEH: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT TAKES PLACE SOMEWHERE OTHER THAN YOUR OWN COUNTRY

Well, I live in South Africa and I have never found a really popular book that is set in South Africa unless it’s been written by South Africans themselves. It would be so interesting if someone would write a South African fantasy. I would read that in a heartbeat. Otherwise, pretty much every book I have ever read is set in somewhere other than my country.

dotted-linePATE-A-CHOUX: NAME A FOOD FROM A BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRY

Harry Potter 1

Need I say more? I’ve only read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone from the Harry Potter series so far, but there are quite a few moments where I found myself really wishing I was eating the food with the characters. You know you would love to try Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans, too!

dotted-line

I tag:

Anna @ My Bookish Dream

Deanna @ a novel glimpse

Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny

Triana @ Basically Triana

dotted-line

If I have tagged you and you have already done this tag then link it below so that I can check it out! Again, sorry for the late post, guys! I just got back to university a few weeks ago and I’m trying to find a way to balance my time between university work and the blog!

WHAT ARE YOUR ANSWERS TO SOME OF THESE QUESTIONS? ANY THOUGHTS ON MY ANSWERS? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

 

11 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag | A Bundle of Books

  1. Lois says:

    Yes. The Starbound trilogy definitely deserves more attention. I absolutely love that series. Tarver and Lilac remain to be my OTP. I simply love this series and I love how plot points are continued and developed in the other books and how the characters all link up.

    Like

  2. aimalfarooq says:

    CAN I JUST SAY THAT YOUR GRAPHIC IS ON POINT? 😀 So, so cute.
    Thanks for doing the tag! I’m surprised to see someone say the Hunger Games’ movies were better than the books, although I get where you’re coming from. The movies were very well done. I’m not huge on the series either, but I still like it.
    Have you read the Infernal Devices? 🙂 I found that to be much better than the Mortal Instruments!

    Like

    • Lara says:

      Haha thank you so much 😀 it took forever to make lol!

      The Hunger Games just never grabbed me you know. The concept felt so much more exciting in the movies but maybe that’s just because it was translated into that form of media really well.

      I’m planning on reading the Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices in the publication order because I’ve heard that that’s the best way to do it if I want them to intertwine? Haha I don’t know if I’m right about that but yeah I plan on picking up the Infernal Devices eventually!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I would love to try all the food in Harry Potter as well! 😀 They all sound very interesting. Thank you for tagging me! ❤ Also, I'm really sorry that I am writing this sooo late, I was really busy this past week. :/

    Like

  4. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Awesome post- I’m glad you liked Frankenstein in the end- it is a bit slow so it’s hard to get through, but it’s so beautifully written and the story’s so great that I agree, it’s worth it in the end 🙂 Also *high five*- I love TOG too!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

