Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Review

Everything Everything

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: 1 September 2015

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Where To Purchase: TakealotExclusive BooksBook Depository

Rating:Star2 Star2 Star2

SYNOPSIS

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

Everything, Everything is about the thrill and heartbreak that happens when we break out of our shell to do crazy, sometimes death-defying things for love.

 

MY REVIEW

I originally rated this book 4/5 stars, but have since decided to bring it down to a 3/5 stars. If I am being honest with myself, that is the rating that this novel deserves. I rated it based on enjoyability, writing style, and layout. To be honest, there isn’t much that I can say about Everything, Everything. It didn’t blow me away, but it wasn’t terrible either. It was just okay. It was a quick and easy read, and actually had so much potential to be amazing. Unfortunately, it fell flat for me by the end because of the ending and how it wasnt as original as it could have been.

Before I really get into why this novel was just okay, let me talk about what I did enjoy about it. First, I just want to put it out there that there is diversity in this book. The protagonist is African-American/Japanese and I love that. Diversity in books is super important to me! Also, the concept of a girl who is allergic to everything is so unique, and that in itself made me want to read this book. Other than those two aspects though, there are two main elements of Everything, Everything that I enjoyed. These were the writing style and layout.

Firstly, the writing style in this novel is absolutely beautiful. Nicola Yoon writes in such a poetic way and really knows how to convey powerful messages in very few words, too. I thought that this was really impactful given how the story can be quite sad at times. So, definitely an A+ for writing style!

The layout of this novel was really fun and interesting to read as well. There is a mix of media, from illustrations, emails, and logs, to medical records, receipts, and graphs. This really helped to quicken the pace of the story and made it a lot easier to read. It also helped to tell the story because instead of dumping all of the important information onto the reader, the author shows it in one form of media or another. I learnt a lot about the Madeline and Olly and their situations because of this, and I’m not sure that I would’ve learnt about them as much if Nicola Yoon didn’t use so much mixed media in order to add the informative details of the story. So, again, an A+ for layout!

This brings me straight into the problems I had with Everything, Everything. First, I want to discuss how this book didn’t actually break any boundaries. It had so much potential to be great and to go in a really original direction, but it didn’t. It was reminiscent of The Fault In Our Stars at times and not much actually happened until about three quarters into the book. Also, the way this novel ended was TOO convenient and thats why it fell flat for me. It was just too easy of an ending and I was pretty upset that Nicola Yoon couldn’t find a different way to end the novel. I was really interested to see how Yoon was going to wrap things up and, yet, she made it quite disappointing. Overall, the lack of originality and the ending both brought down the rating here, which is unfortunate because this novel had so much potential.

So, I think a 3-star rating is fair in this case. At first it was 4-stars because I convinced myself that I could overlook the ending, but I can’t. It has bugged me ever since! I enjoyed Everything, Everything and didn’t have too many issues, but it was pretty average overall.

HAVE YOU READ EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING? WHAT DID YOU THINK? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

Leave a Reply

