Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR | T10T

2

Top Ten Tuesday was created by the awesome ladies over on The Broke and The Bookish! Check out their blog if you would like to join this weekly book meme!

This week’s topic is Top 10 Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR! For those who do not know, “TBR” stands for “to-be-read”, so today I will be speaking about the top ten books that I recently added to my “to-be-read” list. A lot of the books on this list have been waiting to be read for ages now, but I’m still really excited to get to them. Some were added to my TBR more recently than others, but I’m not as excited for other books that I’ve recently added as I am for these. If you would like to check out my complete TBR list you can find it here! Otherwise, here is my list for Top Ten Books That I’ve Recently Added To My TBR!

dotted-line

10

Doon (Doon #1) by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon

Doon

Not too many people talk about Doon, but I heard about it from some of my GoodReads friends and it actually sounds like it could be quite good! Firstly, the story is set in Scotland, which is pretty awesome, and, secondly, there is a whole new world in Scotland that the characters travel to and I’m really interested to see what that’s about!

dotted-line

9

Soundless by Richelle Mead

Soundless

There aren’t many YA fantasies that include Asian elements, so when I heard about Soundless I immediately wanted it on my TBR list because of the fact that it focuses on Chinese folklore. I think diversity is important and its super refreshing to find a YA novel that is diverse! Also, the concept of a strange village of deaf people seems like it has the potential to be a really mysterious story and I’m really into mysterious stories at the moment!

dotted-line

8

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

The Rest of Us Just Live Here

In every novel there is “The Chosen One”. You know, the one that gets to fight dragons and save the day. But The Rest of Us Just Live Here is unique in that it’s a story that focuses on those characters who are just the ordinary people in the background of the story. This concept really intrigued me from the moment I heard of it, so I immediately had to add it to my TBR!

dotted-line

7

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On

I recently read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and, although I’m not a huge contemporary fan, I found it to be enjoyable. However, I knew I was definitely going to read more of Rainbow Rowell’s work after I heard about Carry On! This novel is a fantasy, which is one of my favourite genres, and I really want to see Rainbow Rowell’s take on it! I thought her contemporary was good, but I’m curious to see if she is good at fantasy, too. I’ve only heard good things about Carry On, though, so my expectations are high!

dotted-line

6

Outlander (Outlander #1) by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander

At number six I have Outlander by Diana Gabaldon! This book is historical fiction, a genre I actually haven’t read from even though I absolutely love history! This story is about a woman who time travels from the 1940s to Scotland in the 1700s. I’ve heard so many amazing things about this novel and the TV show, so it is definitely one of the top books on my TBR list right now!

dotted-line

5

More Than This by Patrick Ness

More Than This

Ah, yes, another Patrick Ness book! More Than This was recommended to me by a GoodReads friend and because of him I decided to check out what its about. The only problem was that I actually couldn’t really do that! The synopsis is very vague and mysterious, and that just made me want to read it even more! All that I really know is that this story is about a boy who drowns and then suddenly wakes up naked, hungry, and alive, but not knowing where he is or how he got there. I really can’t wait to get to this and see exactly what it is all about!

dotted-line

4

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy #1) by Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone is one of those books that I added to my TBR because of the hype. I’m not entirely sure how to explain what this book is about, but let’s just say that Prague, a monstrous creature, and a world named “Elsewhere” are involved. This is ranked high on this list because I’m really keen for a different kind of fantasy and I’m always hearing that this book is one of those, which makes me really pumped to read it!

dotted-line

3

This Shattered World (The Starbound Trilogy #2) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This Shattered World

I had been highly anticipating the release of This Shattered World in South Africa for forever. When I finally got my hands on it in December I was absolutely itching to read it because I have to know what happens! I read the first book in this trilogy, These Broken Stars, a while ago and really really enjoyed it. It was the first sci-fi I ever read and the story was so intriguing and complicated that once it ended I just NEEDED the next book. The desire to read this book is so strong, but for now it is going to stay on my TBR and keep me excited to read it so that I don’t rush through it and then wait another year for the final book!

dotted-line

2

The Final Empire (The Mistborn Trilogy #1) by Brandon Sanderson

The Final Empire

At number two is The Final Empire, the first book in the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. Again, I have heard so many good things about this book. But the reason why I’m so keen to read it is because it is high fantasy and I really want to get into that genre a bit more. I tried reading it a few months ago, but stopped after a couple of chapters because of university. But what I did read was so cool and I was always excited to get back to reading it. I’m really hoping that I can get to it again soon!

dotted-line

1

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

Winter

The number one book that I recently added to my TBR is Winter by Marissa Meyer! I don’t think anyone understands how strong my love for the Lunar Chronicles is. Seriously, this series is my all-time favourite and has been the most epic and adventurous series of books that I have ever read. The fact that Winter is the final book makes me so sad but so pumped at the same time because I can’t wait to see how it ends! I’m trying to delay reading it as much as possible because I don’t want the series to be over just yet, but this is probably the number one book on my entire TBR because of how excited I am to read it!

dotted-line

These were my picks for Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR! I added them all to my TBR because of how interesting, unique, and mysterious they all sound, but I ranked them on this list according to which ones I am most excited about! I really can’t wait to get to each of them!

WHAT BOOKS DID YOU RECENTLY ADD TO YOUR TBR? WHICH ONES ARE YOU MOST EXCITED ABOUT? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR | T10T

  1. Lois says:

    There are so many great books in this list. Winter is an absolutely beautiful series finale. Seriously it ticked all the boxes for me. I guarantee you will love it, hopefully haha. Plus it’s not the final farewell to the Lunar Chronicles because we still have the short stories compilation to look forward to. The Starbound trilogy is another favourite of mine. The characters are so wonderful and the way that they all come together is amazing and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Like

    • Lara says:

      Ah, yes, I can’t wait for Stars Above to come out, too! But I’m scared that the short stories won’t be enough to satisfy my love for the series lol I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Starbound trilogy because not many people are fans. I can’t wait to see how the characters come together and I’m sure I’ll enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kdhombre says:

    Hello! I wanted to let you know that I enjoy your blog and that I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award. 🙂 If you’d like to join this daisy chain, you can make a post with seven facts about yourself and nominate 7 -15 other blogs to share the love. If you can, I think they like if you use their logo – you can find that on my post or via google. Hope you’re having a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lara says:

      Thanks so much! 🙂 Hopefully I can get to posting that soon, because there are so many posts I have waiting in line already haha. But thanks and I can’t wait to post about it 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

