My 2016 Reading Challenge | A Bundle of Books

The x Reading Challenge-2

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

A new year has arrived and I am ready to start fresh with a new reading challenge! Every year I set reading goals for myself according to what kind of changes I want to make in my reading for that year. If you would like to check out my reading challenge for 2015, you can find it here. I was able to complete two out of the four “mini challenges” I set, which isn’t too bad. Unfortunately, I was only able to read a total of twenty-four books towards my goal of thirty for the year, so that was a bit of a bummer. But its okay, because 2015 is done and dusted and it is now time for a new challenge! Here is my 2016 Reading Challenge!

dotted-line

3 MUST-READ BOOKS FOR THE YEAR

  1. Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela
  2. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
  3. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

There are a number of books that I have been wanting to read for ages but haven’t had the chance to get to properly just yet. So, this year I am putting them down as MUST-READS. I think that it is finally time that I read these books in all their glory once and for all. I started Long Walk to Freedom and The Lord of the Rings a while ago, but, in both cases, I kept putting them down for long periods of time and forgot what happened last, so I think it’s best that I start over. And yes, these are BIG BOOKS, but I think they will be worth the time it takes me to read them!

dotted-line

3 BOOKS OVER 500 PAGES

In 2015, the longest book I read was Cress by Marissa Meyer, which is 550 pages long. The rest of the books I read were less than 500 pages and this year I would like to change that by reading longer books. I have so many books that are over 500 pages long and I’ve been wanting to read them for ages, but, until now, I’ve found them to be too intimidating to read. This year I will finally get to a few of them! My must-read books for the year don’t count though!

dotted-line

5 SCI-FI BOOKS

I don’t really have a favourite genre because I just pick up whatever sounds interesting or fun. But there is one genre that I barely ever find myself picking up: SCI-FI. I have read only one sci-fi and I think its because I find myself overwhelmed by the genre. So many people love reading sci-fi, however, I don’t usually find space, science, or anything along those lines interesting. But, this year I really want to give it a chance and read some great sci-fis!

dotted-line

READ THE HARRY POTTER SERIES

Unfortunately, I am one of the very few people in this world who hasn’t read the Harry Potter series. I know, I know, this is totally not okay. But it is going to happen this year! There isn’t any reason for why I haven’t read the series yet. I just didn’t have the books growing up and most of my friends weren’t readers, and those few that did read didn’t read Harry Potter either. Everyone (including myself) loved the movies, but the books were never a big deal as far as I knew at the time. However, I do feel that it is my duty as a reader and as a fan of the movies that I read this series already.

 dotted-line

READ A TOTAL OF 45 BOOKS

Every year GoodReads sets up the GoodReads Reading Challenge where it’s members set a reading goal for themselves with the amount of books that they want to read by the end of the year. As I mentioned above, my goal for 2015 was thirty books, but I was only able to read twenty-four books. This year I really want to up my game! I want to read forty-five books this year! If you would like to see how my GoodReads Reading Challenge went last year you can check it out here. I really hope I’m able to reach my goal, but I’m confident that I will because I’m super excited about all the books that I plan on reading soon!

dotted-line

That is my 2016 Reading Challenge! I think it will be a bit more difficult than last year, but it will be interesting to see how I do as the year goes on. I will be updating how my challenge is going throughout the year here. I hope this challenge has inspired you to challenge yourselves in your reading this year, too! Happy reading!

HOW WILL YOUR READING CHANGE THIS YEAR? HAVE ANY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR ME? WHAT DO YOU WANT TO READ THIS YEAR? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

4 thoughts on “My 2016 Reading Challenge | A Bundle of Books

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny says:

    Lord of the rings! Yes! ❤ I barely read the Harry Potter series 2 months ago, and before that I had never seen more than 5 minutes of any of the movies! XD If you want to read a sci-fi novel, I'd recommend Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card. Good luck with your reading goals, Lara! I hope to complete the Popsugar Reading Challenge and my goal of 100 books on Goodreads. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Combustible reviews says:

    These sound like some fun goals. I read the fellowship of the ring for the first time last year. I found the first half slow going, but it picked up in the second half of the book.

    You won’t regret the HP series and I bet there’s many people seething in jealousy that you get to read it for FIRST time.

    I’d recommend The long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter. I haven’t read much Sci fi either and I felt like this eased me into the genre gently. A mix of sci fi with logical sciencey bits, but sort of sci fi fantasy too.

    Maybe The Martian by Andy Weir too? It has a lot of technical in it, but it’s written in Diary form and the Main Character is a delight to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

