Top 5 Books of the Year | T5W

1.png

Top Five Wednesday was created by Lainey over on Ginger Reads Lainey! Check out her YouTube channel and the GoodReads group if you would like to join this weekly book meme!

This week’s topic is Top 5 Books of the Year! I read twenty-four books this year and there was quite a variety of books that I did enjoy and books that I didn’t. I thought it would be difficult to narrow my favourites down to just five books, but I was pleasantly surprised because I was able to choose my top five quite easily. These books were not necessarily rated 5/5 stars or placed on my favourites shelf on GoodReads. Rather, they were chosen as my top five based on overall enjoyability. Here are my Top 5 Books of the Year!

dotted-line

5

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything Everything

 Everything Everything was a really wonderful read! I’m not a huge fan of contemporary, but the style of writing and all the mixed media in the book really drew me in. There were charts, illustrations, emails, texts, and more, and this made it more fun and quick to read as well. This story is about Madeline, who is allergic to everything. She isn’t allowed to leave her 100% germ-free home at all. But then, a guy moves in next door. That synopsis in itself should tell you how much of a rollercoaster ride this novel took me on with my emotions. But don’t worry, this book is nothing like The Fault In Our Stars. Everything Everything has a life of it’s own and I really enjoyed it!

dotted-line

4

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice

Taking fourth place is Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. I had to read this for an English course at university and really didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did! The way Austen dealt with the themes of marriage, money, and class was very interesting. I also loved the characters because they were so complex and flawed. I read a lot of classics, but very few are ever as enjoyable and memorable as this one. Considering these factors, I couldn’t help putting Pride and Prejudice on this list. This was my first Austen novel and I can’t wait to read more of her work!

dotted-line

3

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight

Next up is Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas! If ever there was a totally action-packed, adventurous, and exciting novel, this would be it! I wasn’t totally blown away by this book’s predecessor, Throne of Glass, so I didn’t have any high expectations going forward with the series. But, boy oh boy, was I in for a surprise. This novel introduced so many new twists in the series and took a very different direction to what I initially thought. There are so many layers to the story and so much going on that I am absolutely itching to get my hands on the third book.

dotted-line

2

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell

Nineteen Eighty Four

When it comes to Nineteen Eighty-Four, where do I even start? This book was so unique, interesting, and clever. There is so much that I loved about it! I really didn’t enjoy Orwell’s other novel Animal Farm when I read it a few years ago, which didn’t exactly make me look forward to reading more of his work. But, I had no choice but to read Nineteen Eighty-Four for university this year, and it was so fascinating. The politics, the satire, the world, ALL OF IT, just worked together so well and made a huge impact on my views of the world. As I said earlier, I rarely find classics to be enjoyable and memorable, but this book was both. It is one of my all-time favourite books now!

dotted-line

1

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

Cress

And now we finally get to my favourite book of the year! CRESS BY MARISSA MEYER! I wish I could properly express how I feel about this book in just one paragraph, but that’s pretty much impossible. Cress is such an adorable character and I loved following her journey throughout this novel. I’m not gonna lie, I was expecting a completely different story to the one that I got, but I loved that! The little twists and turns added more excitement to the story and the way it ended made me feel so many emotions at once! This book made me laugh, cry, swoon, and even shout (because you know Queen Levana is kinda the worst, right?). Cress added so much more to the Lunar Chronicles series and I really can’t wait to finish the series off with Winter soon!

dotted-line

That was my Top 5 Books of the Year for this week’s Top Five Wednesday! I’m so excited to participate in this book meme as often as possible and hope you enjoyed my first Top Five Wednesday post!

WHAT ARE YOUR TOP FIVE BOOKS OF THE YEAR? COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET’S TALK ABOUT IT! 🙂

Signature

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Books of the Year | T5W

  1. Richard says:

    My top 5 include Amber Spyglass and Subtle Knife both by Phillip Pullman (finally read his Dark Materials!), The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, Trigger Mortis by Anthony Horowitz and Dark Places by Gillian Flynn.
    1984 has been on my list of books to read for …well, forever! I intend to read it this year for certain. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    Nice choices! I must say that I’m so surprised you have two classics on your list. They’re so hard for me to read, the only time I do it is for an assignment and even then it’s a struggle to do so. Hopefully I’ll find myself enjoying them more soon

    Like

  3. Movies Unchained says:

    I completely agree with you regarding 1984 – it is one of the most extraordinary books I have ever read, and when I read the final lines, I was in absolute shock. I also didn’t enjoy Animal Farm, which I found overblown and pompous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

