12 Days of Christmas Book Tag | A Bundle of Books

MERRY CHRISTMAS, EVERYBODY! Today I am doing my very first tag on my blog: THE 12 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS BOOK TAG! This tag was created by Ashley at Falling Down The Book Hole and I was tagged by Joey at Thoughts and Afterthoughts. Thanks for tagging me!

This past week was quite hectic so it was pretty difficult to post, but I really wanted to do this tag and I thought that since today is finally Christmas that I would do it at last! I was tagged for so many other Christmas tags, but there wasn’t enough time. Maybe I can get to the other tags for Christmas next year. This tag has a ton of questions, but I am going to keep my answers as simple as possible so let’s get to it! 🙂

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me: A partridge in a pear tree.

The partridge stood alone in the pear tree. What is your favourite stand-alone?

Nineteen Eighty Four

I don’t really enjoy stand-alones enough to consider them favorites. I’m not usually satisfied after reading them because I always want more! But, Nineteen Eighty-Four would definitely be an exception. This book is everything I wanted it to be. It creeped me out, made me cry, made me question so much about the world, and had an ending I didn’t expect.

dotted-line

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Two turtle doves.

Love is in the air! Who is your one true pairing?

These Broken Stars

This is a difficult question for me because I have so many OTP’s that I am obsessed with, but I’m going to have to go with Tarver and Lilac from These Broken Stars! I love that their relationship didn’t involve any insta-love in order to happen. They have a very realistic and believable relationship (and are so damn cute,too).

dotted-line

On the third day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Three French hens.

In the spirit of threes, what is the best trilogy you have read?

Funny enough, I haven’t completely read a trilogy yet. I only got into reading series last year and every trilogy I have started so far has just been too unsatisfactory for me to complete. So no answer here!

dotted-line

On the fourth day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Four calling birds.

Since series usually consist of four or more books, what is your favourite series?

Cinder

The Lunar Chronicles is by far my favourite series at the moment! I have started quite a few recently, but none of them have the action, romance, fun, and originality that I have found in this series!

dotted-line

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Five golden rings.

One ring to rule them all! Who is your favourite villain/antagonist?

Dracula

There are very few villains/antagonists that I think are pretty good. I find that they aren’t always very original and that there are so many things similar between the ones that I have read about. However, in the case of Bram Stoker’s Dracula, I really really loved Dracula himself! The way he is portrayed by the media today is so different to the antagonist that I read about in this novel and it was so interesting and cool to read about!

dotted-line

On the sixth day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Six geese a laying.

Creation is a beautiful thing. What is your favourite world/world-building?

To be honest, I am yet to read a book that has really great world-building. World-building is super important in fantasy and sic-fi, especially, but I wouldn’t say I have read any book from either of those genres that has really blown me away in the world-building department just yet!

dotted-line

On the seventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Seven swans a swimming.

Who needs seven swans when all it takes is one good animal sidekick? Who’s your favourite animal sidekick?

The Twistrose Key

In this adorable middle-grade novel there is a mouse named Rufus and he is a great animal sidekick in this novel. I loved that he was the heroine’s childhood pet and that they went on such a fun adventure together. He was intelligent, funny, and comforting , and that made him feel so unique and wonderful.

dotted-line

On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Eight maids a milking.

Milk is so 18th century. Which book or series takes beverages/food to a whole new level? 

The Lord of the Rings

Food doesn’t really make an appearance a lot in The Lord of the Rings, but the fact that the hobbits in this world are food-crazy and go all out in the food that they serve at parties is what brought this book to mind!

dotted-line

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Nine ladies dancing.

Dancing is just one skill of a lady! Who is your favourite kickass female lead?

Throne of Glass

Of course I just had to go for Celaena Sardothien! She is probably the most kickass female lead that I have ever read about. Her character goes so much deeper than just being a badass. I think a kickass female lead isn’t only strong physically and can kick some serious butt, but also has a lot of depth to her character and personality. Celaena is intelligent, funny, and also pretty vulnerable at times, too. I love how all-rounded she is!

dotted-line

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Ten lords a leaping.

How about your favourite leading lad?

Fangirl

I didn’t have a hard time deciding on an answer for this one! I would definitely say that Levi is my favourite leading lad at the moment. He’s just a great guy and I find him really endearing. He’s not exactly a superhero. He’s more like a diamond in the rough! (And he’s probably my favourite leading lad because I’m kinda-sorta in love with him)

dotted-line

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me: eleven pipes piping. 

What is your favourite book or bookish thing with musical influence? (It can be about music, reference music a lot etc.)

Shout!

Unfortunately, I haven’t read any books with musical influence. I love listening to music, but I don’t really find myself wanting to read about it. However, I do own SHOUT!, which is the biography of The Beatles, and I REALLY want to read it soon!

dotted-line

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me: 12 drummers drumming. 

Drum roll please…What is your favourite read of this year?

Hmm…How about we wait until next week’s post to find out the answer to this question? 😉

dotted-line

And that was my first tag on my blog! If you did the 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag then link it in the comments for me to check it out! If you didn’t do the tag then leave your own answers in the comments, too! I’d love to see what you all have to say 🙂

I won’t be tagging anyone for this tag but if you would still like to do it then go ahead! Otherwise, Merry Christmas to you all and your friends and families!

Signature

Leave a Reply

